Sarah’s Riding Journal

1/3/14-

First off let me say-I HAD NO SCHOOL TODAY HALLELUJAH!!

So tonight I had a jumping lesson on Watching with Dan. I feel like I have been having a really off day today; nothing has really been going my way ever since I woke up this morning.

But I realized as soon as I started typing this that I shouldn’t have let my horse realize that I’m not on my game, which I am now kicking myself for.

It is for this reason that I had one run out (one too many), one rail (one too many), and too many long, weak spots. Halfway through my lesson I said to myself “What is up with me?” because show jumping is my favorite phase and I have always loved the type of exercise that we were doing (S-turns).

Although the lesson ended on a good note and I was all smiles (especially after picking up the cat and taking her for a ride on Watching with me), I still could not get over the fact that I was not 100%. But I will take this experience as a way to motivate me, and hopefully I will be back to the jumping fool that I am in no time!

Sarah holding the cat whilst riding Watching

Sarah holding the cat whilst riding Watching

Flat-wise: While I was warming up, and throughout my ride, Watching was very soft and responsive to my leg and hand and it felt a little bit easier to control his pace as I was increasing and decreasing his speed. Fingers crossed that this is progress heading in the right direction!!

A little clip from tonight:

Kick on,

Sarah

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

