Sarah’s Riding Journal

1/8/14-

I have been having such a great day!! I woke up happy and my attitude has remained the same throughout the whole day. For the first time in a long time, I got to the barn genuinely excited to ride. Over the years I feel as if I have been on a roller coaster ride with my love of horseback riding. Sometimes I feel as if this is what I was born to do, and I couldn’t imagine living without it. Other days I wish I had become serious in something else, and I have doubts about wanting to do this for the rest of my life. Today was one of those days where you get to the barn, throw on your tack, and have a great ride. My rediscovered enthusiasm proves to me that I really do want to do this for as long as live, BUT I need to learn to be happy with my decisions, and not second guess myself. It’s days like this that makes us makes us equestrains! We do this because we love it. I think my attitude transferred over to my ride, because I was so energetic that Watching felt a little more forward. Also, since I was so happy I didn’t get frustrated, so there was more leg than hand. I was really pleased with tonight!

The exercises I did:

-Forward and collect-Push your horse into a medium trot, verging on the extended trot, and when you feel their stride get as big as it can get, you do a small circle (12-15 meters), slowing your posts, but keeping the leg on. This will make your horse collect themselves, and change their stride into a long, slow yet engaged step.

-Leg yield and shoulder in

-Transitions from the trot to walk and back to the trot within 10 strides (your horse anticipates the transition and collects himself more. This helps them soften their poll).

Kick on (and keep the faith),

Sarah

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

