Pre-Aiken Jitters

So the Aiken countdown begins: T minus 10 hours.

So I was going to write a post about how to pack efficiently for Aiken… But I haven’t put a single piece of clothing into my suitcase. Therefore, I am an awful person to take advice from on this subject. So as I sit here, procrastinating folding laundry, I wonder what Aiken will be like. Everybody seems to love it. I am a little reluctant and slightly nervous to leave home. Big changes have always been scary for me, and even though I will be with my little “eventing family” down there, I feel like I am leaving behind a lot for two whole months. I’m relieved that I will at least have Watching down there with me, but I will really miss my dog, Danny, who I have never been away from for more than a week at a time for the past five years. Not going back to hell aka school won’t be a problem for me, but leaving behind a few close friends will be. I think I will feel better when everyone and every horse is down there, safe, sound, and healthy.

My dog, Danny, greeting me as I wake up in the morning. How could you not love that face?!

My dog, Danny, greeting me as I wake up in the morning. How could you not love that face?!

Two months feels so far away but I know time will fly by down there and I’ll be back before I know it. I just need to make the most of my time in Aiken and take as much away from the experience that I can.

Sarah

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

